Sitting Volleyball World Championship 2018 pools and schedule confirmed

The pools and match schedule for the Sitting Volleyball World Championships 2018 in the Netherlands have been confirmed.

The teams were seeded in the pools using the serpentine system starting with the host nation the Netherlands as seed 1 followed by the rest of the teams using the world rankings.

Defending champions China have the honour of the opening the women’s tournament in Arnhem on July 15, taking on Italy at 11:00. Rio 2016 Paralympic gold medallists USA play Hungary at 16:00 and hosts the Netherlands entertain Croatia at 18:00.

The opening match of the men’s competition on the same day sees Egypt play Poland at 11:00 in Venlo. Meanwhile 2016 Paralympic champions Iran take on Japan at 13:00 before 2014 World Championship winners Bosnia and Herzegovina meet Iraq at 15:00.

Full Women’s Schedule & Pools:


Full Men’s Schedule & Pools:

The Sitting Volleyball World Championships 2018 features 16 teams per gender with the men’s tournament taking place in Venlo, Eindhoven and The Hague from July 15-22. Women’s pool play will be held in Arnhem from July 15-17 before the finals and crowning of the world champions take place in Rotterdam from July 19-21.

Men’s teams play their first two preliminary round matches in Venlo from July 15-16. They then take a day off before the last day of eliminations on July 18 in Eindhoven, which will also host the quarterfinals on July 19. The final phase of the tournament, from July 21-22, takes place in The Hague where the world champions will be crowned.

Check out World ParaVolley’s official website or our social media accounts for Facebook (, Twitter ( and Instagram ( for the upcoming schedules and important announcements.