Road to Tokyo: Bangkok to host 2019 Asia-Oceania Zone Championships

The continental quest to the Tokyo Paralympic Games is on!

As the anticipation for the 2020 Paralympic Games builds stronger, Thailand is set to host the 2019 ParaVolley Asia Oceania Sitting Volleyball Zone Championships on 10-15 June 2019.

Photo: As hosts of the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games, Japan have already qualified for the Sitting Volleyball competition while World Championship winners Iran (men) and Russia (women) have also qualified

The winners of the zonal tournament will gain an outright berth at the Tokyo 2020 games. Expressing the importance of the zonal event, ParaVolley Asia Oceania President Cailiang Lu calls for the participation of member nations to the tournament.

“This is a very important event as it attracts World ParaVolley ranking points and is our Zone premier event,” he said.

The tournament is set to take place at the Indoor Stadium Huamark in Bangkok, Thailand.

Already confirmed for the Summer Games are hosts Japan and Iran (men), who earnt a spot in Tokyo after taking the World Championship title in July.

Member nations are given until 1 March 2019 to submit their Provisional Entry list of 18 players and five bench personnel. The final team entry form, meanwhile, containing 12 players in the roster must be submitted on 26 April 2019.

For more information, you may reach Tournament Director Ann Mahakeeta at

Quick Links

Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games Sitting Volleyball Qualification Process