Asian Para Games – Indonesia v Mongolia women opens Sitting Volleyball tournament

Hosts Indonesia will have the honour of opening the 2018 Asian Para Games Sitting Volleyball competition when its women’s team plays Mongolia in the opening match on Sunday, 7 October.

Indonesia are making their debut at the Asian Para Games, which first started in 2010 while Mongolia finished fourth in their only other appearance in 2010.

The first of 32 games will start at 09:00 followed by six other matches, with three women’s and four men’s matches every day of the preliminaries.

The third Asian Para Games will take place in Jakarta, Indonesia from 6-13 October with Sitting Volleyball – being held from 7-11 October – expected to be one of the most popular events.

A total of eight men’s and five women’s teams have entered the competition (same number as the 2014 edition) which will take place at the GBK – Tennis Indoor Arena. The additional women’s teams include defending champions China, Iran and Japan and they will play in one group. The men’s teams include 2014 winners Iran, China, Indonesia, Iraq, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea and Myanmar who will play in two groups.

The seven highest men’s teams on the World ParaVolley Ranking List, as of 1st January 2018, plus the hosts obtained one qualification slot for their NPC while the five highest ranked women’s teams on the World ParaVolley Ranking List, as of 1st January 2018, also obtained one qualification slot.

Four years ago, world No 2 China beat Iran in the women’s final while world champions Iran beat China in the men’s final. Both 2014 winners are expected to dominate again.

Check out the groups and full match schedule here.

Quick Links

World ParaVolley Asian Para Games Sitting Volleyball webpage

2018 Asian Para Games official website

2018 World ParaVolley Sitting Volleyball World Championships