USA and Poland 1 win tiebreakers to reach Pingtan Open final

The United States’ Chris Seilkop/Dave Newkirk/Eric Duda and Poland 1’s Adam Stepien/Artur Wasowicz/Rafal Wojtowicz secured spots in the 2019 Beach ParaVolley World Series Pingtan Open final after stunning victories on Saturday.

The American trio rallied from a set down to beat Slovakians Rudolf Makovini/Martin Dubovsky/Juraj Kucej 2-1 (16-21, 21-5, 15-12) to set up a clash in the finale with Stepien/Wasowicz/Wojtowicz who outplayed Bartolomiej Synoweic/Jacek Molinski/Michal Wypych 2-1 (21-9, 19-21, 15-10) in the all-Polish semifinal duel.

The gold medal match between USA and Poland 1 is scheduled on Sunday at 15:30 (GMT +8) after the bronze medal match of Slovakia and Poland 2 at 14:30.

Meanwhile, Australia’s Nic Kaiser/Nick Coburn/Bradley Barclay topped India 2’s Naresshdayav Ragula/Mahesh Deeravath/Virendra Singh in straight sets (21-4, 21-19) to be in the fifth place playoff with India 1’s Datar Deewarata/Abhishek Aluwala/Sahir Ali Mallick, who won by forfeit against Germany.

The fifth place playoff match between Australia and India 1 will start at 11:00, followed by the women’s final match between USA and China at 13:30.

Quick Links