Two gold medals will be at stake at Tokyo 2020 in the men’s and women’s competitions.

The sitting volleyball competition at Tokyo 2020 will feature eight teams in each of the men’s and women’s competitions, with qualification through continental events. A preliminary round-robin will determine the rankings for a knockout round.

Iran and Bosnia and Herzegovina have contested the men’s gold medal match at the last five Paralympic Games, with Iran emerging victorious at Rio 2016. Indeed, the Islamic Republic of Iran has won gold on six occasions, after a period when the Netherlands was the leading team.

In the women’s game, the USA overcame three-time champion China to take the gold medal in Rio, with home fans cheering Brazil to bronze after their victory against Ukraine.

One of the most prominent athletes at Rio 2016 was Iran’s Morteza Mehrzadselakjani, known as Mehrzad. At a staggering 2.46m tall he is the world’s second tallest man and the tallest athlete ever to compete at a Paralympic Games. Born with acromegaly due to a congenital hormonal imbalance and later suffering an accident which means he uses a wheelchair or crutches in everyday life, Mehrzad applied his height to great effect on the court.

Playmaker Kaleo Kanahele Maclay was one of the stars of the USA team in Rio. Considered one of the best setters and most consistent servers in the world, Kanahele Maclay began playing aged nine. She gained a silver medal while still a teenager at London 2012 and went one better four years later.

Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games Qualification Process

The Venue – Makuhari Messe Hall

The Makuhari Messe Hall is a large-scale convention centre that spans some 210,000 square metres and consists of three major zones – the International Exhibition Hall, the International Conference Hall and the Makuhari Event Hall. The centre is located in Chiba City, Chiba Prefecture.


Paralympic GamesEventGoldSilverBronze
Arnhem 1980MNetherlandsSwedenYugoslavia
Stoke Mandeville & New York 1984MNetherlandsFR GermanySweden
Seoul 1988MIranNetherlandsNorway
Barcelona 1992MIranNetherlandsGermany
Atlanta 1996MIranNorwayFinland
Sydney 2000MIranBosnia & HerzegovinaFinland
Athens 2004MBosnia & HerzegovinaIranEgypt
Athens 2004WChinaNetherlandsUnited States
Beijing 2008MIranBosnia & HerzegovinaRussia
Beijing 2008WChinaUnited StatesNetherlands
London 2012MBosnia & HerzegovinaIranGermany
London 2012WChinaUnited StatesUkraine
Rio 2016MIranBosnia & HerzegovinaEgypt
Rio 2016WUnited StatesChinaBrazil
Tokyo 2020MIranRPCBosnia & Herzegovina
Tokyo 2020WUnited StatesChinaBrazil

Specific Competition Regulations