About the Competition

Two gold medals will be at stake at Paris 2024 Paralympic Games in the men’s and women’s competitions.

The sitting volleyball competition at Paris 2024 will feature eight teams in each of the men’s and women’s competitions, with qualification through continental events. The sitting volleyball events will take place between the 29th of August and the 7th of September 2024.


To be eligible as a player for the 2024 Paris Paralympics, players must have competed in a World ParaVolley sanctioned competition between 1 January 2022 and 30 June 2024.

Recognised sanctioned competitions are World ParaVolley events, Zone Championships and Regional Paralympic Games. These include:

2022 World Championships
2023 Zone Championships (PVA, PVPA, PVAO and PVE)
2023 World Cup
2023 Asia Para Games, African Para Games, Para PanAm Games
2024 Final Paralympic Qualifier
2023 Women’s World Super 6
2023 / 2024 Men’s World Super 6 (subject to confirming a host and event dates)


North Paris Arena is located in the Villepinte exhibition centre in Seine-Saint-Denis. This venue will host the preliminary rounds of the boxing events and the fencing ranking round of the modern pentathlon event during the Olympic Games, as well as the sitting volleyball events during the Paralympic Games.


The men’s and women’s sitting volleyball competitions will each have a preliminary round and a single-elimination phase, for 36 matches.

Preliminary round

The competitions will begin with the preliminary round, for which the (8) teams will be divided into two (2) pools (A and B) of four (4) teams each. Each team will play the three (3) other teams in its pool.

The ranking of teams after the preliminary round will be determined by the number of victories (matches won and matches lost among teams of the same pool).

In the case of equal number of victories, rankings of teams will be established as follows:

1. Number of points gained

If two (2) or more teams have the same number of victories (matches won, matches lost), they will be classified in descending order by the points gained by each team per match.

Match won 3-0 or 3-1 3 points
Match won 3-2 2 points
Match lost 2-3 1 point
Match lost 0-3 or 1-3 0 points
Match forfeited 0 points, 25-0, 25-0, 25-0

2. Set quotient

If two (2) or more teams are tied on the number of points gained, they will be classified in descending order by the quotient resulting from the division of the number of all sets won by the number of all sets lost.

3. Point quotient

If the tie persists based on the set quotient, teams will be classified in descending order by the quotient resulting from the division of all points scored by the total of points lost during all sets.

4. Head-to-head

If the tie continues to persist based on the point quotient, priority will be given to the team which won the last match between them. When the tie in point quotient is between three or more teams, a new classification of these teams under the terms of point 1 to 3 above will be made taking into consideration only the matches involving the teams in question.

Final Phase

The top two (2) teams in each pool will qualify for the semifinals, with four (4) teams. From this point the competitions will follow a single-elimination format. The winners of the two (2) semifinals will play for the gold medal, and the losers of the two (2) semifinals will play for the bronze medal. The two (2) teams in third place in each pool will qualify for the placing playoff for 5th or 6th place. The fourth placed in each pool will qualify for the placing playoff for 7th or 8th place.


Paralympic GamesEventGoldSilverBronze
Arnhem 1980MNetherlandsSwedenYugoslavia
Stoke Mandeville & New York 1984MNetherlandsFR GermanySweden
Seoul 1988MIranNetherlandsNorway
Barcelona 1992MIranNetherlandsGermany
Atlanta 1996MIranNorwayFinland
Sydney 2000MIranBosnia & HerzegovinaFinland
Athens 2004MBosnia & HerzegovinaIranEgypt
Athens 2004WChinaNetherlandsUnited States
Beijing 2008MIranBosnia & HerzegovinaRussia
Beijing 2008WChinaUnited StatesNetherlands
London 2012MBosnia & HerzegovinaIranGermany
London 2012WChinaUnited StatesUkraine
Rio 2016MIranBosnia & HerzegovinaEgypt
Rio 2016WUnited StatesChinaBrazil
Tokyo 2020MIranRPCBosnia & Herzegovina
Tokyo 2020WUnited StatesChinaBrazil
Paris 2024M
Paris 2024W


PDF Loading...